In 2023 for the first time, Franciscan Action Network held an unconventional benefit; we invited members of our Network to sponsor or buy a ticket and to give away their dinner to someone who truly needed it. The Network responded with such love and generosity that we will do it again this year!

At that time, Jesus said,
“When you give a luncheon or dinner, do not invite your friends, your brothers or sisters, your relatives, or your rich neighbors; if you do, they may invite you back and so you will be repaid. But when you give a banquet, invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, the blind, and you will be blessed.”
Luke 14:12-14

Truly it is in befriending our neighbors who are experiencing hard times and sharing with them that we become blessed, encountering the Christ present in each person. FAN is delighted to announce that our annual benefit in June 2024 will be held in partnership with St. Francis Inn, a Franciscan Eucharistic community that ministers with people who are poor and unhoused in Philadelphia, PA. In early June, FAN staff and friends will spend a day at St. Francis Inn, serving dinner and learning from the guests about the circumstances that lead to economic hardship, as well as what helps people endure and overcome. FAN will also make a generous contribution to the work of St. Francis Inn.

While the dinner will be provided to guests of the Inn, as a sponsor or ticket holder, you are invited to participate in our online benefit program:

“Befriending our Impoverished Neighbors & Becoming Blessed:

Sharing Stories & Building Connections”

Zoom program

Tuesday, June 11, 2024

7-8 pm Eastern l 6-7pm Central l 5-6pm Mountain l 4-5 pm Pacific

This online program will include testimony from guests at St. Francis Inn, Franciscans and others offering service there, and experts on issues related to poverty in the United States. Some of the questions to be discussed include: Why do so many people fall into economic hardship and homelessness? What helps them to endure and overcome? What is the distinctively Franciscan approach to caring for their physical, social, and spiritual needs? Looking at the systemic level, what can Americans learn from the experience of other countries about how to mitigate poverty? Please check back to this page often as we will update it as we confirm our program speakers. We look forward to seeing you in June. 

Sponsor our event

Please click the button above to sponsor via online payment

OR

Send a check to: Franciscan Action Network, 1400 Quincy Street NE, Washington DC 20017 and note in the memo line: “Befriending Neighbors.”

Laudato Si Sponsors:

Brother Sun Sponsors:

Sister Moon Sponsors:

Susan Ayers

Brother Wind Sponsors:

Charles Dunne

Mary V Widhalm

Share This